class="post-template-default single single-post postid-301 single-format-standard wp-custom-logo wp-embed-responsive right-sidebar nav-float-right separate-containers header-aligned-left dropdown-hover featured-image-active" itemtype="" itemscope>

Astrology In Vedic way: Birth Chart The Power of 12 Houses, 9 Planets, 12 Rashi.

What is Indian astrology?

Indian astrology, also known as Vedic astrology or Jyotish, is an ancient system of astrology that originated in India. It is a complex and comprehensive system that incorporates astronomical calculations, astrological charts, and interpretations based on Vedic scriptures.

Astrology kundali

In India, we have a tradition from which we learn or take as a reference is for Lord SreeRam.

astrology ram

In India general term used Is Kundali or birth chart. The Kundali will have 12 houses, 9 planets, and 12 rashis . In Indian astrology, a birth chart or Kundli is a graphical representation of the positions of celestial bodies at the time of an individual’s birth. It is based on the precise date, time, and location of birth. The birth chart analyzes various aspects of a person’s life, including personality, career, relationships, and future events. astrology

This kundali is divided into 12 parts or say houses or bhavs . The middle part of the diagram is represented as a square also called as Kendra bhav . Rest all are in a triangular shape. These 12 houses or bhavas are given numbers in an anti-clockwise. They are always fix for every living being on this earth. So a kundali has 12 houses which define the life aspects of any person .

The Rashi or the zodiac signs.

In Indian astrology also includes twelve zodiac signs, which are based on the position of the Moon at the time of birth. Each zodiac sign is associated with certain qualities and characteristics that influence a person’s personality and behavior. These things always change every 2 hours. For example, say 6 am if house number 1 has aries then by 8 am Taurus will make the entry, this keeps on going for 24 hrs. Simple maths 24 hrs a day 12 rashis, so each house will have one Rashi for 2 hrs a day.

Like the houses, they  give numbers to all rashis or zodiac signs  which are

  1. Aries / mesh
  2. Taurus / Rishab
  3. Gemini /Mithun
  4. Cancer / kark
  5. Leo / Sih
  6. Virgo/ kanya
  7. Libra/ tula
  8. Scorpio / vrishick
  9. Sagittarius / Dhanu
  10. Capricorn /makar
  11. Aquarius / kumbh
  12. Pisces/ meen

The 1st House we also call a “Lagna” and it represents ourself.It represents ones personality.

astrology 1st house

Planets / Grah: As we all know, outer space has millions to billions of stars and planets that have not yet been explored. These planets are believed to influence different areas of life and are placed in specific houses in the birth chart. The houses represent different aspects of life, such as wealth, relationships, careers, and spirituality. Indian astrology or kundali considers only the planets in main solar system and it states that these planets impact our lives. The outer planets of the solar system i.e  Uranus, Neptune and pluto (arun , varun ,yam ) are not counted. Western astrology does count these planets.

The Indian astrology uses the 7 planets / grah and 2 shadow planets, in total 9 planets. These 7 planets’ name is our weekdays

Week days name Ruler
Sunday / Ravivar Sun
Monday / somvar Moon
Tuesday/ manglavar Mars ( mangal)
Wednesday/ Bhudvar Mercury ( budh )
Thursday/ Brhaspativar Jupiter / brahspati / guru
Friday / shukvar Venus / shukr/bhargav
Saturday / shanivar Saturn / shani
Shadow houses


Shadow planets are those planets that cannot be seen by telescope. We all know that the earth revolves around the sun and the moon rotates around the earth. Now during this rotation, there will be 2 such points where the suns orbit and moons orbit coe in a single line, such 2 mathematical points that can’t be seen through the naked eyes . But these are those points when the moon comes between the earth and the sun .also called as eclipse. Because of this, we will get 2 shadows North Node of moon called as Rahu and the south node of moon called as Ketu .

Here the conflict on terminologies like sun and moon are called as planets can arise. We can say that these are modern science terminologies, Indian astrology goes back to 1000 yrs back, that time these physical mass / heavenly bodies were given a single term ie planets. Sun and Moon are called luminary planets.

The most important Myth, is how come these planets that are so far away cause an effect on a person’s life? To answer this myth lets take a star/planet whose modern science has done extensive research ie “ Sun”.

The distance of the Sun from Earth is approx 14.95 crore kilometers away. We all know the  Speed of light which is 3 lakh kilometers/sec. So now if we calculate the time for the light from the sun to reach Earth or to living being is approx 500 sec ( or in other words 8 mins 20 sec ).

Does this light cause an impact on Earth?

Answer is yes of course.. Lets take the example of plants, the whole process of photosynthesis depends on the sunlight, thus we can say the whole life on this planet depends on sun.

The next question is what about Moon ? . Does the moon have its own light? The suns light reaches the moon and that gets reflected to earth and we get to see the moon. So any school-going children can raise a question Why do plants cannot produce food or the process of photosynthesis during nighttime as its light is the same as what we receive during the day?

Modern science has answered this question too, and that’s because there is a change in the wavelength of the light received from the moon and sun.

In a similar way, according to Indian astrology, all the other planets reflect the sun’s light on Earth. For example, Saturn takes approx 79 mins to reach Earth. Many people can contradict it, but that doesn’t mean that Indian astrology is wrong, in simple words modern science has not yet discovered any instruments to capture the wavelength of light coming from Saturn and study its effect on human beings. In other words, Sir Issac Newton proposed the theory of gravity when an apple fell on his head. This doesn’t mean that gravity force doesn’t exist pre-newtons era.

Indian astrology says that even if someone doesn’t believe in all these things, the radiation coming from all the outer planets makes an impact on our lives. The rainbow color VIBGYOR ranges from violet to red, our naked eyes can only capture these color frequencies. This doesn’t mean that ultraviolet and infrared rays don’t exist.


The interactions between the planets, houses, and zodiac signs in the birth chart are analyzed to provide insights into an individual’s life, strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, challenges, and potential future events. Astrologers interpret the complex relationships and alignments between these elements to make predictions and offer guidance

.This subject Indian Astrology is a science in itself that has to yet get explored.

To know more about different houses , rashis , planets how it works click here for next article

Click Here to know what your moon says

Astro manifestation Click Here



Leave a Comment